Starks Field Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

167 Church Street,
London N9 9SJ

0208 887 6060

Starks Field Primary School

Be The Best You Can Be helps our pupils learn the importance of our six core values: kindness, respect, tolerance, resilience, honesty and self-responsibility.

  1. Curriculum

Starks Field Curriculum

Our Intent

Starks Field Primary School aims to provide opportunities for children to develop as independent, confident, successful learners with high aspirations who know how to make a positive contribution to their community and the wider society. There is a high focus on developing children’s moral, spiritual, social and cultural understanding and on preparing children for life in modern Britain. Key elements of our broad and balanced curriculum are academic success, creativity and problem solving, reliability, responsibility and resilience, as well as physical development, wellbeing and mental health. Our goal is to support the development of the whole child, to celebrate the diversity of our school community and to promote a positive attitude to learning which enables pupils to have the confidence and skills to make decisions, self-evaluate, make connections and become lifelong learners.‚Äč

At the heart of all we do is our core motto, ‘Be The Best You Can Be’; this ethos is instilled across every aspect of our curriculum and all of the work we do as a staff team to ensure that our pupils have the belief in themselves and the skills and knowledge to truly be their best. Our six core values at Starks Field, and those that underpin everything we do, are:

  • Self-responsibility
  • Honesty
  • Respect
  • Kindness
  • Resilience
  • Tolerance


Cornerstones Curriculum

The thematic Cornerstones Curriculum is based on inspirational learning activities which take place within the classroom environment and which allow children to learn in a way that motivates and interests them. Cornerstones provides our children with a good level of challenge, giving them opportunities to solve problems, apply themselves creatively and express their knowledge and understanding by making connections across the curriculum. It is studied by pupils in EYFS, KS1 and Year 6.

Pupils experience at least six Imaginative Learning Projects in a year. Each individual project is split into sections, which see children progress through four stages of learning: Engage, Develop, Innovate and Express.


At the Engage stage, children:

  • gain memorable first-hand experiences, such as going on a visit or inviting a special visitor into school
  • enjoy ‘WOW’ experiences
  • get an exciting introduction to a topic or theme
  • begin researching and setting enquiry questions
  • get lots of opportunities to make observations
  • develop spoken language skills
  • take part in sensory activities
  • have lots of fun to fully engage with their new topic.


At the Develop stage, children:

  • improve their knowledge and understanding of the topic
  • develop and practise their new skills
  • compose, make, do, build, investigate, explore, write for different purposes and read across the curriculum
  • research their own questions and those set by others
  • follow new pathways of enquiry based on their interests
  • complete homework activities that support their learning.


At the Innovate stage, children:

  • apply skills, knowledge and understanding in real-life contexts
  • solve real or imagined problems using everything they’ve learnt
  • get inspired by imaginative and creative opportunities
  • revisit anything not fully grasped at the Develop stage.


At the Express stage, children:

  • become the performers, experts and informers
  • share their achievements with parents, classmates and the community
  • evaluate finished products and processes
  • link what they have learnt to where they started
  • celebrate their achievements!

If you would like to find out more about the Cornerstones Curriculum, please visit their website at and watch a useful information video here:


The Cornerstones Curriculum is designed to cover the National Curriculum requirements for geography, history, science, computing, art and DT.

For details on how we deliver other subjects please click on the links on the left.


Opening Worlds Curriculum

We decided to move to the Opening Worlds curriculum for Years 3, 4 and 5 and introduced this in September 2022. This covers history, geography and science and follows a progression model. As it is a sequential and progressive curriculum, we made the decision not to introduce it in Year 6. In terms of foundation subjects not covered by Opening Worlds, the subject leads alongside SLT investigated different curriculums and selected those that suited Starks Field best, including a self-designed art and DT scheme of work, Teach Computing and Charanga for music. For PE and RE we follow the Enfield schemes of work.